top of page
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Writer's pictureUduaku Arinze

The Weight of Expectations


Source: yemecee.medium.com

I got a reply from Mary Owolabi on my post on ‘Mental Health is Health,” she talked about how expectations from people are the main cause of her anxiety. I relate to her on this level, human beings, in general, will always expect things from each other. I myself have certain expectations of myself, our parents or family members expect us to behave a certain way while our peers or society members want something different from us. It’s a problem if you’re not married at 25 and even when you’re married, more problems follow, that's just how life is. As much as it is never really possible to get rid of the weight of expectations of you it is also not possible to please everyone. I’m not perfect and I don’t know it all but my advice to you Mary is not to wear the weight of people’s expectations and judgements. It's hard but you have to do what you have to do to keep your sanity in check. Thank you very much, Mary, for keeping up with my content, it really means a lot.


Source: pinterest.com

11 views4 comments

4 Comments


adebisimaliki33
adebisimaliki33
Feb 04, 2022

I really hope persons going through this are able to heal and do things not because of how other people want it to be but because they want it done that way for themselves. Nice piece, it was very thoughtful of you to share. Big shout out to Mary!

Like

Mary Owolabi
Mary Owolabi
Feb 04, 2022

People should learn to stop enforcing their expectations on people

Like

Mary Owolabi
Mary Owolabi
Feb 04, 2022

The expectations of people are really unnerving.

Like

Mary Owolabi
Mary Owolabi
Feb 04, 2022

Thank you very much writing this.

Like
Post: HTML Embed
bottom of page