top of page
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Writer's pictureUduaku Arinze

A Letter to.........


Source: beliefnet.com

Handwritten letters may be old school but I think they warm the heart the most. I cannot remember a time when I did not like reading letters or anything that starts with “Dear ………” I remember when I was little and I would do something to upset my mum, I would write her a written note, apologizing to her and promising never to repeat what I did, but of course it would happen times and times again. I guess that’s were my love for writing began Writing notes or letters was my own from of expression especially when I could not meet with the individual in person because I was embarrassed or sorry. Its also a form of therapy for me, when I am faced with difficulties in school or generally, I would write letters to my future self-assuring her that everything would be alright and she would come full circle. Some people think its cheesy to write letters but to me there’s nothing as sweet as a written letter. In fact, one of the easiest ways to my heart is through a handwritten letter, I think it is a lot to really sit down and write a letter to a person, it means the person really cares about you. It was my brother’s birthday recently and all I wanted to do was to write him a handwritten letter but sadly there were no ways to get them delivered to him, even though my school’s mail room. I understand that the world has gone digital, so there are really no ways to send these kinds of messages but what of those of us that still want to send physical letters. There’s something about letters that is special and warms the heart I still have letters that I had gotten since secondary school with me, I keep them in an old perfume box in my room. At times I would just sit down and go through them one by one by one and catch myself smiling or tearing up. Letters keep your memories intact for you, they help you remember what you would easily forget; they are also a way to meet and truly know a person without having met him/her in reality. Writing letters are truly therapeutic and I would advise anyone that hasn’t done it , to write.
























20 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

2 Comments


Boma Adebisi
Boma Adebisi
Feb 07, 2022

i literally just feel like writing makes everything better and a letter is a good thing to write


Like

Boma Adebisi
Boma Adebisi
Feb 07, 2022

omg and i thought my love for letters was weird


Like
Post: HTML Embed
bottom of page