top of page
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Writer's pictureToluwanimi Kayode

MALVA PUDDING: POPULAR SOUTH AFRICAN DESSERT

Hi, my name is Testimony and to the best of my ability I would be writing on various foods I would love to try. If there are any types of food or specific meals you would like me to write about, please drop them in the comment box.


Are you fan of sweets? Well, I totally am and it didn’t help to find out that I have a sweet tooth gotten from my dad, who knew something like that would open the doors to my hidden cravings for something tasty. Now don’t get me wrong I haven’t gotten to the point where I’m always eating something sweet, I’ve got cravings just like everyone else and for me it’s under control sort of. We’ll leave it at that for now, I’m used to the normal brands of chocolates like Sneakers, Mars, Fingers, Maltesers and lots others, usual sweet cake and others but sadly I haven’t been able to explore my horizons on tasty pastries and trust me I’ve already started my long list for exploring and luckily, we’ll be looking at a snack that’s made it to my list.

Source: Gemma’s Bigger Bolder Baking


As Africans one might be a bit hesitant about the idea of having a bucket list for sweets but it’s never bad to have a little bit of sweetness in your system once in a while. The sweet on my list today is a South African dessert that can be easily baked at home. Malva Pudding is a sweet and sticky baked pudding with a sponge texture made with apricot jam and can be served smothered in a hot cream sauce or whipped cream. I haven’t had pudding ever but just the look at Malva Pudding already has me mouthwatering. I love things soft and just the idea of biting into something that’s instantly smooth and squishy that melts straight on my tongue almost has spending all my money to get baking, almost.


It is apparently the most popular dessert in Cape Town and believed to have originated from Dutch. It is fixture in South African cuisine and is popular among both natives of South African and European descent. The pudding is easy to make and even a beginner cook can make it, this has my name written all over it. The sponge-like texture of the pudding is largely caused by the egg yolks and the high jam concentration, I’m not really a fan of jam but that will not stop me from trying this sweet one day.


According to a theory by the Oxford English Dictionary, it is believed that the name of the dessert came from the Afrikaans term malvalekker (marshmallow). If this is true it makes more sense now seeing how spongy and swishy a marshmallow is.


For anyone who needs the recipe for this amazing sweet here it is https://www.dbenational.org/recipes/malva-pudding

34 views2 comments

Related Posts

See All

TIPS FOR A HEALTHY FASTING

As the 21 days, winners fasting and prayer and also the 50 days redeem fasting and prayer begin it is important to know certain things to...

2 commentaires


Kome Adherioma
Kome Adherioma
22 nov. 2021

i love sweet things too🥰🥰

J'aime

Dominion Ikpeawujor
Dominion Ikpeawujor
20 nov. 2021

I am sooo mouth watered. This made my afternoon😛

J'aime
Post: HTML Embed
bottom of page