top of page
Post: Blog2 Post
  • Writer's pictureUduaku Arinze

The Gift of a Friend

Friendships can be very complicated. When I was younger I used to be obsessed with the idea of friendship, the thought of having many friends made me happy. My mum always complained that I had too many friends, but I never understood her. I saw her as the antisocial person that wanted me to be just like her. Now I look back and realise that a whole lot of friendships that we are forced into or create is as a result of peer pressure, whether you know it or not. You call so many people your friends that the line between friendship and acquaintanceship is blurred.

On our birthdays in primary school, you were to choose your best friend or a close friend that will accompany you to share cakes to all the teachers you liked including our headmistress and you would see girls that ordinally, were not nice or the ones you don’t talk to being overly nice to you. They will be in the spotlight that day because they are walking ll over the place with the birthday girl.


Source: Emotional Friendship Messages-Heart Touching Friendship Quotes

wishesmsg.com


A little while later as at the time I was in secondary school, there were times I would try to reach out and keep in touch with old friends so we didn’t stop talking or forget one another, so we remained friends forever. I don’t know what happened but that’s not me anymore. I realized that if a person is meant to be your friend for the long haul, life will ultimately find a way to keep them in your space. You may be like me and have that one friend that you don't see very often or talk to every time but you have so much love for and when you see each other you hit off right where you left. There are moments when your friends piss you off so much that you can't take it anymore or you just need space; in moments like these most times you just tolerate whatever they do because well, they are your friends. But there are also times when against all odds they are there for you and your friendship is filled with happiness, laughter, celebrating and crying together. In these moments your friendS makes your heart full, I call them “The Little Joys”.

In life, there are many beautiful things, but one of the most beautiful things life has to offer is the gift of a friend.



Demi Lavato- The Gift of a Friend



47 views21 comments

Related Posts

See All

21 bình luận


Khách
11 thg 2, 2022

Feb 10


very nice , i really enjooyed it

Thích

Komone Zoe
04 thg 2, 2022

Your write ups have been nothing short of excellent, keep it up

Thích

Komone Zoe
04 thg 2, 2022

The gift of a friend is something we all should appreciate. Good writing

Thích

Ifunanya Ukachukwu
Ifunanya Ukachukwu
04 thg 2, 2022

friendship is extremely important, cherish

Thích

Mary Owolabi
Mary Owolabi
04 thg 2, 2022

My friends especially are there for me in times of trouble there are many things I wouldn't be able to do without them

Thích
Post: HTML Embed
bottom of page